Ruan Family Presents Awards to World Food Prize Laureates and Interns

Nov 7, 2016

On October 12-14, the 2016 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium was held in Des Moines, IA, to honor the 2016 World Food Prize Laureates and foster discussion amongst international experts on increasing the quality, quantity and availability of food in the world. 

“Let Food Be Thy Medicine,” a quote attributed to Hippocrates approximately 2,400 years ago, best captures the ground-breaking achievement for which the four distinguished 30th Anniversary Laureates were honored.

During this year’s ceremony, held October 13 at the Iowa State Capitol, John Ruan III presented the 2016 World Food Prize award to Laureates Dr. Maria Andrade, Dr. Robert Mwanga, Dr. Jan Low and Dr. Hoarth Bouis. The collective efforts of these four Laureates led to more than 10 million people benefiting from biofortified crops—with the potential to impact millions more. Ruan’s daughter, Dr. Rachel McLean, along with Norman Borlaug’s granddaughter Julie Borlaug, presented awards to Ruan-Borlaug interns Isiah Brandt, who accepted the John Chrystal Award, and Madeline Poole and Precious Listana received the Szymoniak Award. Ceremony attendees also included Iowa Governor Terry Branstad and U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, who delivered a special message from President Barack Obama. 

Working to alleviate world hunger was a lifelong passion of Ruan’s founder, John Ruan, who assumed sponsorship of the prize in 1990. The Ruan family contributed $10 million to permanently endow the Prize and ensure its tenure in Des Moines, IA, by restoring the century-old Des Moines Public Library into the World Food Prize Hall of Laureates. John Ruan III succeeded his father as chairman of the World Food Prize Foundation in 2004. The Ruan family and Ruan companies are proud to continuously pursue John Ruan’s vision of uplifting suffering people around the globe by bringing greater awareness to the critical issue of food security. 

Photos courtesy of the World Food Prize:

World Food Prize 2016 Laureates Ceremony