Ruan Wins Big at IMTA Best of the Best Awards Ceremony

Sep 23, 2013 By:

Ruan and our team members took home seven awards at the Iowa Motor Truck Association’s (IMTA’s) 2013 Management Conference this week, including Safety Professional of the Year and Iowa Driver of the Year.

At the Best of the Best Awards luncheon, Ruan’s Director of Safety Lisa Gonnerman was named Safety Professional of the Year for her leadership, experience and dedication to safety.

“The winner of this year’s Safety Professional of the Year award has certainly garnered the respect of many peers. To take a quote from the nomination letter, ‘Her experience, leadership, engaging presence and tremendous commitment have changed our company in a very short time,’” said IMTA Chairman Steve Schuster when he announced the award winner.

Des Moines, IA, based driver Steve Millang was named the 2013 Iowa Driver of the Year. Steve has more than 30 years of experience at Ruan and was recently honored as one of Ruan’s Driver of the Year Region Winners.

“Like many of the winners who have been named over the years, our 2013 Driver of the Year has dedicated his life to trucking. He knew from the time he was a young man that he wanted a career in trucking,” said President of Dedicated Contract Carriage Ralph Arthur when he announced the award; Ralph will soon take over as chairman of the IMTA for the 2013-14 year. “And shortly after entering the industry, he knew that safety and professionalism had to be his top priorities. Three tips that have guided him over his career are working with a positive attitude, ensuring the equipment is in good shape and driving the truck likes it’s his own.”

Other Ruan team members were nominated for awards and recognized at the luncheon.

Kelli Jacobs, a dispatcher at Ruan’s Muscatine, IA, terminal, was a nominee for the Dispatcher of the Year award. Cedar Falls, IA, driver Mark Howard was one of the 12 nominees for the Iowa Driver of the Year award as well. And, Corporate Maintenance Manager Bob Hower was nominated for the Fleet Maintenance Professional of the Year award.

Ruan also took home two awards as a company. Ruan was honored with the Fleet Safety Award in the 15-plus million miles category for truckload carriers and a Fleet Maintenance Award for upholding quality maintenance operations.

Directors of Operations Lucas Wolfe and Tatum Moyer were recognized for participating in the IMTA’s 2013 Leadership Class, where they learned about the trucking industry’s lobbying efforts, public speaking and leadership styles.

“I’m incredibly proud of Ruan’s showing at the Best of the Best luncheon,” Ralph said. “Our safety and maintenance teams work incredibly hard to ensure our professional drivers have the skills and resources they need to drive safely, including well-maintained equipment. And Steve Millang truly deserved to be recognized as the Iowa Driver of the Year; he is safe, professional and provides excellent customer service.”

Congratulations to all of our winners! We’re proud that you represent Ruan.